Emergency Management

Australia faces a range of natural and man made hazards, which have the potential to threaten life, cause injury, damage property and the environment. Under the residual powers of the Australian Constitution, the State and Territory Governments are responsible for measures to manage these hazards, whilst the Commonwealth provides assistance and coordinates federal resources, including Defence Force resources, in support of the requesting State or Territory. The Commonwealth also provides the forum where States & Territories can share methodologies and develop principles for the management of hazards.

Each State and Territory has established its particular arrangements to manage emergencies and have enacted legislation to give effect to these arrangements. In Western Australia, the Emergency Management Act was proclaimed in 2005. Prior to this, a number of “Policies” were in place under the authority of a Cabinet Minute, which have been incorporated into the new Act and the ongoing regulations which are under development.

In compliance with the Emergency Management Act, 2005, and other “State Policy Statements”, the Western Central Local Emergency Management Committee (WC LEMC) was formed on May 18th, 2005.

The WC LEMC is a non-operational cooperative group that carries out emergency management (EM) planning activities and maintains local emergency management arrangements within the areas bounded by the following local government authorities:

  • City of Nedlands
  • City of Subiaco
  • Shire of Peppermint Grove
  • Town of Cambridge
  • Town of Claremont
  • Town of Cottesloe
  • Town of Mosman Park
  • Town of Vincent

Local Emergency Management Arrangements have been compiled to address those areas where the WC LEMC provides support to Hazard Management Agencies and other agencies during emergencies, and is responsible for recovery operations. The Western Central Local Emergency Management Arrangements document can be found by following this link to the City of Nedlands Website.