Local Government Elections 2019

Local government ordinary elections are held on the third Saturday in October every two years.

The next local government ordinary elections will be on 19 October 2019.

Shire of Peppermint Grove Councillors in this years Election are:

  1. Shire President Councillor Rachel Thomas
  2. Deputy Shire President Councillor Charles Hohnen
  3. Councillor Dawne Horrex
  4. Vacant Position (from Council resignation in 2018)

While voting in a local government election is not compulsory in Western Australia, all electors are strongly encouraged to vote. The Shire of Peppermint Grove ordinary elections are administered by the Western Australian Electoral Commission and are conducted by postal vote. All eligible electors must be enrolled to receive their postal voting package. Packages are sent out 3 weeks prior to the election. For more information on voting in the local government elections, visit the Electoral Commission’s website. 


Local government candidate induction

This year new laws have been introduced which makes it compulsory for all candidates nominating in a local government election to complete the department’s online induction.

You will be asked to declare that you have completed the online induction when filling out your nomination form. It is an offence to make false or misleading statements on the nomination form.

At the end of the induction you will need to fill in your details to register your completion. Please make sure you press the registration button at the end or your completion will not be registered. You should receive an email confirming you have completed the induction. Please keep this for your own records.

The induction should take no longer than one hour to complete.

Complete the local government candidate induction